Did you know that Texas senators draw numbers to determine their term length? Here are the results

One by one, state senators learned on Wednesday how long they would serve in the Capitol during the term they won in the November election.

In a somewhat outdated and bizarre process that occurs once every ten years after redistricting, senators had to choose envelopes with numbers from 1 to 31, one for each member, with those who drew odd numbers serving four years and those who drew even numbers are two years. annual deadlines.

Texas LegislatureWhat Austin senators hope to pass in the 88th session

Those who chose a two-year term will be re-elected in 2024. If they win re-election in two years, they will be eligible for two additional four-year terms.

Senators who choose a four-year term will serve until 2026 before they have to seek re-election. If they win re-election in 2026, they will only be eligible for an additional four-year term before starting to be elected for two-year terms in subsequent re-election bids.

The cycle starts again in the next decade.

Senators who will retain their districts for the next four years:

  • Brian Birdwell, R-Granbury
  • Brandon Creighton, R-Conroe
  • Pete Flores, R-Pleasanton
  • Roland Gutierrez, D-San Antonio
  • Bob Hall, R-Canton
  • Brian Hughes, R-Mineola
  • Lois Colkhorst, R-Brenham
  • Jose Menendez, D-San Antonio
  • Mays Middleton, R-Galveston
  • Borris Miles, D-Houston
  • Robert Nichols, R-Jacksonville
  • Charles Perry, R-Lubbock
  • Charles Schwertner, R-Georgetown
  • Kevin Sparks, R-Midland
  • Judith Zaffirini, D-Laredo

Content source

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button