Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.

FCS Crown UIW Quarterback Lindsey Scott Jr. with the Walter Payton Award

Scott now becomes the first UIW player to receive this award in his 36-year history.

IMAGE DISTRIBUTED FOR PRELIMINARY STATISTICS – University of the Incarnate Word quarterback Lindsey Scott Jr. celebrates receiving the Walter Payton Award during the FCS Awards Banquet on Saturday, December 7, 2023, in Frisco, Texas. (Gareth Patterson/AP Images for Stats Preform)

Gareth Patterson, FRE/Associated Press

After wiping out FCS defenses week after week and taking Incarnate Word football to the FCS playoffs further than ever as a Mr. Do It All program for the Cardinals, Lindsey Scott Jr. received another noteworthy accolade with an impressive seven-year journey through the college Football – Walter Payton Award 2022.

The prestigious award is presented annually to the most outstanding striker of the FCS football club in that season. Scott received the trophy at the Stats Perform FCS National Awards in Frisco on Saturday, January 7th. According to the NCAA, he now becomes the first UIW player to receive the award in his 36-year history.

Scott ends his one and only season in the red and black Cardinal uniform as arguably the greatest player in Incarnate Word history. He threw for 4,686 yards, 60 touchdowns and just eight interceptions while he had 712 yards and 11 touchdowns in the season. He also led the Cardinals to their first ever FCS Semi-Finals, where the UIW ultimately failed to defeat the reigning FCS Champions North Dakata State 35–32.

According to the NCAA, a nationwide panel of more than 150 sports media directors, broadcasters and writers vote on the winner of the award based on player performance during the regular season. Notable Walter Payton Award winners include NFL stars Cooper Kupp (Washington East, 2015), Jimmy Garoppolo (Illinois East, 2013), Tony Romo (Illinois East, 2002), Brian Westbrook (Villanova, 2001 d.) and Steve McNair (Alcorn State, 1994).

Content source

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button