Four Oathkeepers Convicted of January 6 Sedition

WASHINGTON (AP) — Four members of the Oath Keepers were convicted Monday of inflammatory conspiracy during the January 6, 2021 Capitol attack, in the second major trial of far-right extremists accused of conspiring to forcibly keep President Donald Trump in power.

Verdict against Joseph Hackett of Sarasota, Florida; Roberto Minute of Prosper, Texas; David Merschel of Punta Gorda, Florida; and Edward Vallejo of Phoenix comes weeks after another jury found group leader Stuart Rhodes guilty of a mob assault that prevented President Joe Biden’s electoral victory from being confirmed.

This is another major victory for the Justice Department, which is also seeking to convict the former Proud Boys leader and four associates of sedition. The trial of Enrique Tarrio and his aides began earlier this month in Washington and is expected to last several weeks.

Jurors in Washington deliberated for about 12 hours over three days before returning a guilty verdict on a rarely used charge that carries up to 20 years in prison. The four were also found guilty on two other charges of conspiracy as well as obstruction of a formal hearing: Congressional approval of the 2020 election. Minute, Hackett and Merschel were acquitted of lesser charges.

Content Source

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button