Hurts, Jefferson and Mahomes among AP NFL MVP finalists

Jalen Hurts, Justin Jefferson and Patrick Mahomes are finalists for the 2022 NFL Most Valuable Player and Offensive Player of the Year awards.

Winners will be announced at NFL Honors on February 9th. A nationwide group of 50 members of the media who regularly cover the league has completed voting ahead of the start of the playoffs.

Bills quarterback Josh Allen and Bengals QB Joe Burrow were also MVP finalists.

Hurts had 3,701 passing yards, 760 rushing yards, and 35 touchdowns combined to lead the Philadelphia Eagles to a 14-3 regular season record and the No. 1 seed in the NFC. The Eagles (15-3) are in the NFC Championship for the second time in six seasons.

Jefferson led the NFL with 128 catches and 1,809 yards in his third season with the Minnesota Vikings. Jefferson was one of two unanimous picks for AP All-Pro along with Chiefs tight end Travis Kelsey.

Mahomes, the 2018 NFL MVP, helped Kansas City go 14-3 to No. 1 in the AFC. The Chiefs (15-3) are in the AFC title game for the fifth consecutive season. They will take the Bengals. Mahomes led the NFL with 5,250 passing yards and 41 touchdowns. He received 49 of 50 first-team All-Pro AP votes.

San Francisco 49ers forward Nick Boza, Chiefs defenseman Chris Jones and Dallas Cowboys forward Micah Parsons were named finalists for the AP Defensive Player of the Year award.

Boza led the NFL with 18 1/2 sacks, Jones had 15 1/2 and Parsons 14 1/2.

Brian Daboll, Doug Pederson and Kyle Shanahan were shortlisted for the AP Coach of the Year Award. Daboll led the New York Giants to a 9-7-1 record in his first season as head coach. Pederson led the Jacksonville Jaguars to a 9-8 record and the AFC South title in his first year with the team. Shanahan led the San Francisco 49ers to 13-4, including 5-0 with rookie quarterback Brock Purdy.

Purdy, Seattle Seahawks running back Kenneth Walker III and New York Jets wide receiver Garrett Wilson were all finalists for AP Offensive Rookie of the Year.

Purdy, the last drafted player, started the season as a third-team QB and replaced him after injury to Trey Lance and Jimmy Garoppolo. He led San Francisco to a 5-0 record, two playoff wins and an appearance in the NFC championship game in Philadelphia.

Walker led all rookies with 1,050 rushing yards and nine touchdowns. Wilson led all rookies with 83 catches and 1,103 receiving yards.

Jets cornerback Ahmad “Sauce” Gardner, Detroit Lions cornerback Aidan Hutchinson and Seahawks defenseman Tariq Wulen were finalists for the AP Defensive Player of the Year award.

New York Giants running back Saquon Barkley, 49ers defenseman Christian McCaffrey and Seahawks quarterback Jeno Smith were finalists for the AP Comeback Player of the Year award.

Lions offensive coordinator Ben Johnson, 49ers defensive coordinator DeMeco Ryans and Eagles offensive coordinator Shane Steichen were finalists for the AP Assistant Coach of the Year.

This was the first year of the new AP voting system. Voters chose the top 5 for MVP and the top 3 for all other awards. For MVP, first place was worth 10 points. Votes ranked second to fifth were worth 5, 3, 2, and 1 points.

For all other awards, the first place was equal to 5 points, the second – 3, the third – 1.


Follow Rob Maaddi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/robmaaddi


AP NFL: https://apnews.com/hub/nfl and https://twitter.com/AP_NFL.

Copyright 2023 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or distributed without permission.

Content Source

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button