Texas

Is it legal to ride in the back of a truck in Texas?

HOUSTON (NEXSTAR). If you grew up in Texas with someone who owned a pickup truck, chances are you’ve ridden in the back of that truck at least once or twice.

There are many reasons to ride in the back of a truck, especially because it can be liberating. But is it legal?

Texas law does not prohibit anyone over the age of 18 from riding in an open truck or trailer.

However, the same cannot be said for Texans under the age of 18. Drivers caught with a minor in the back of a truck or trailer can be fined between $25 and $200.

There are notable exceptions to the rule, including:

  • using a vehicle to transport farm workers from one field to another on a farm-to-market road, a ranch-to-market road, or a county road outside the municipality
  • driving on the beach
  • driving a vehicle that is the only vehicle owned or operated by members of the household
  • driving a vehicle in a hayfield authorized by the governing body or law enforcement agency of each county or municipality in which haymaking will take place.

The last notable exception to the rule includes “operating or towing a vehicle during a parade or in an emergency.”

Regardless of age, the risk of traveling without a seat belt still exists and drivers should be aware of how dangerous traveling with passengers in the back of a truck or trailer can be.

Content source

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button