Texas 10 Most Wanted program doubles previous record for most captures in 2022


AUSTIN. The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) is pleased to announce that 2022 saw the highest number of most wanted criminals in a single year since the program began in 1993. Last year, DPS worked with state, federal, local, and Mexican authorities* to apprehend a record 72 fugitives and sex offenders. This is more than double the previous record set a year earlier.

“Public safety is a top priority in the state of Texas, and I’m proud of the brave DPS fighters and law enforcement partners who contributed to this record-breaking achievement,” Governor Greg Abbott said. “Through the Texas 10 Most Wanted program, our brave men and women in law enforcement have removed the most dangerous criminals from our streets and made our communities safer for all Texans. Texas will always be a state of law and order, and together we will keep it that way.”

In addition to the 72 captures, $88,000 in rewards were paid by anonymous tips that led to the arrests.

“The success of this program has a lot to do with the public talking up and letting law enforcement know the whereabouts of these criminals,” said DPS Director Stephen McCraw. “The public is really demanding cooperation with law enforcement to make our communities and all of us safer. We want to thank all of our law enforcement partners who helped successfully bring these perpetrators to justice.”

Among the 72 people captured in 2022, 34 were convicted of sexual offenses and 24 gang members, the most in the history of the program. In addition to the highest number of seizures ever, the program also set several other new records with the most cleared warrants (220) and the most out-of-state seizures (14). This included arrests in Arkansas, California, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, and Mexico.

For more information on the fugitives captured in 2022 as part of the Texas 10 Most Wanted program, visit the archive of captured fugitives.

The Texas Crime Enforcement Administration recently awarded Intelligence and Counterterrorism Division (ICT) analysts Hannah Robinson and Adam Unnash, who were included in the Texas 10 Most Wanted program, for their role in making the program a huge success. Each received a thank you note from Gov. Greg Abbott.

Working in conjunction with the DPS Criminal Investigation Unit, Robinson and Unnash provide critical information and analysis to help law enforcement partners across the state and nation catch fugitives on the top 10 most wanted list. Through their tremendous work, these analysts help law enforcement protect and serve their communities by getting wanted criminals off the streets.

DPS investigators are working with local law enforcement to select fugitives for a list of Texas’ top 10 most wanted fugitives and sex offenders who pose the greatest threat to public safety in the state. You can find current listings – with photos – on the DPS website.

Texas Crime Stoppers, funded by the Governor’s Criminal Justice Department, is offering a reward to anyone who provides information that leads to the arrest of one of the 10 most wanted fugitives or sex offenders in Texas.

Crime Stoppers programs allow citizens to anonymously report crime information for a monetary reward, helping to put criminals behind bars and assisting in crime reduction efforts.

To be eligible for a monetary rewardtipsters SHOULD provide information to authorities in one of the following three ways:

  • Call the Crime Stoppers Helpline at 1-800-252-TIPS (8477).
  • Submit a web tip through the DPS website by selecting a fugitive you have information about and then clicking the link below their photo.
  • Submit a tip to Facebook by clicking the “SEND A HINT” link (in the “About” section).

All tips are anonymous – no matter how they are sent. — and tipsters will be given a hint number instead of a name.

* Partner agencies involved in 72 hijackings in 2022 included DPS Criminal Investigation Division, Texas Highway Patrol, DPS Air Support, DPS Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Administration (CVE), DPS Intelligence and Counterterrorism Division, 16th Operational Judicial District Narcotics Unit (Arkansas), Abilene Police Department, Amarillo Police Department, Anna Police Department (Illinois), Anthony Police Department, Arkansas Correctional District, Division K-9, Arkansas Game & Fish, Atascos County Sheriff’s Department, Police Department Austin Department, Bastrop County Sheriff’s Department, Baton Rouge (Louisiana State Police Department, Baxter County Air Division (AR), Bexar County District Attorney’s Office, Bexar County Sheriff’s Department, Brazos County Sheriff’s Department, Bryan Police Department, Cobden Police Department (IL) , Collin County District Attorney’s Office, K County Sheriff’s Office allin, Commerce Police Department, Corpus Christi Police Department, Council Bluffs (Iowa) Police Department, Customs and Border Protection (CBP), Dallas County District Attorney’s Office, Dallas Police Department, DART Police, Dimmith County Sheriff’s Office, County Sheriff’s Office Dona Ana, Durant (Oklahoma) Police Department, East Baton Rouge (Louisiana) Sheriff’s Department, Fort Bend County Sheriff’s Office, Fort Worth Police Department, Galveston Police Department, Grand Prairie Police Department, Grayson County District Attorney’s Office , Harris County Police Station, Precinct 5, Hereford Police Department, Houston Police Department, Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE), Izard County (Arkansas) Sheriff’s Office, Jonesboro Police Department (IL), Keller Police Department, Los Angeles Police Department ( California), Lubbock Police Department, Mansfield Police Department, Mexican Authorities, Montgomery County Police Station 3, Police some department of Mountain View (Arkansas), a criminal investigation of the Navy. Service (NCIS), New Mexico State Police, Nolan County Sheriff’s Office, Pecos t Police Departments, Plainview Police Department, Robstown Police Department, Rosenberg Police Department, Sabin County Sheriff’s Department, San Patricio County Sheriff’s Department, Sherman Police Department, Police Department Synton Department, Stone County (Arkansas) Sheriff’s Department, Sugar Land Police Department, Sweetwater Police Department, Texas Attorney General’s Office, Texas Department of Criminal Justice – Office of Inspector General (TDCJ-OIG), Texas Governor’s Office, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, Travis County Sheriff’s Office, Union County (Illinois) Sheriff’s Office, US Border Patrol, US National Security Service, US Marshals Task Force on Violent Fugitives, Joint US Marshals Task Force on Fugitives East Texas, Task Force Marshals US Fugitive Search Lone Star, US Marshals Task Force New Orleans, US Marshals Task Force North Texas Fugitives, US Marshals Task Force Pacific Northwest Violent Offenders Task Force, Pacific Regional US Marshals Fugitive Task Force, US Marshals Service – Dist New Jersey Area, U.S. Marshals Service, District of New Mexico – Southwest Investigative Tracing Team, Southeast Regional U.S. Marshals Tracing Task Force, South Iowa Marshals Tracing Task Force, Val Verde County Sheriff’s Office, Walton County (GA) Sheriff’s Office and Williamson County Sheriff’s Office.

### (headquarters 2023-006)

Content Source

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button