Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.

Texas pitchers Gordon and Whitt named to the Big 12 preseason baseball team

Austin (KXAN) — Two Texas Longhorns pitchers were named to the Big 12 Conference preseason baseball team Wednesday.

Based on a vote by conference coaches who could not vote for their players, left-handed pitcher Lucas Gordon and right-handed pitcher Tanner Witt were selected as elected.

MORE THAN THE SCORE: Stay up to date on sports like this and subscribe to our More Than Score sports newsletter at kxan.com/newsletters.

Witt, who is recovering from Tommy John’s throwing elbow surgery, was amazing when he was able to throw last season. He made two starts, winning both, and had a 1.64 ERA with 14 strikeouts in 11 innings before requiring surgery at the end of the season. The redshirted sophomore had a great time in the Longhorns’ bullpen as a freshman, playing in 28 games and hitting 73 strikeouts in 56 innings. He recorded five wins, five saves, and was an All-American freshman.

Gordon moved into the weekend rotation after Witt went down with an injury and turned into one of their most reliable hands on the hill. He played 85.2 innings with 77 strikeouts and a 3.05 ERA while holding off opposing hitters with a .224 average. He made eight starts in the Big 12 game with a 5-0 record and a 3.02 ERA with 47 strikeouts in 44.2 innings.

Oklahoma State pitcher Huaron Watts-Brown was named the league’s preseason pitcher of the year and Rookie of the Year. Watts-Brown, who played at Long Beach State last year, was an All-American freshman with a 3.68 ERA and 111 strikeouts in 73.1 innings. He also threw a no-hitter against UC Riverside on May 8 last season.

TCU infielder Brayden Taylor was named Preseason Player of the Year after hitting .314 with 13 home runs and 50 RBIs last year. Last year, he made it to base safely in 52 of the Horned Frogs’ 59 games.

Anthony Silva of TCU was named Preseason Freshman of the Year.

The pre-season poll voted on by the conference coaches will be released on Thursday.

Content Source

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button