Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.

2 Mill Valley students vying for US Presidential Scholars award

Valle del Mulino Scientific High School. Photo credit Kaylie McLaughlin

Two Mill Valley High School seniors are candidates for the prestigious US Presidential Scholars Program.

The accolade, bestowed annually by executive order from the president, is reserved for some of the nation’s most “distinguished high school seniors,” according to a fact sheet of U.S. presidential scholars.

Both Mill Valley’s Sarah Johnston and Dalton Gabbert are now on the list of seniors who will be narrowed down to finalists later this spring.

Students are welcome to apply each year

  • The United States Scholars Presidential Program is a nationwide opportunity for high school students who exhibit high levels of academic achievement, artistic ability, or aptitude for career and technical education programs.
  • Johnston and Gabbert are both academic candidate candidates.
  • Applicants must have high scores on the ACT or SAT and should be invited to apply.
  • “Being nominated for the 2023 United States Presidential Scholar Award is a recognition of Sarah and Dalton’s outstanding talents,” Mill Valley principal Gail Holder said in an emailed statement. “Their academic success combined with their demonstrated commitment to community service and leadership is why they are among the top high school students in the country.”

Only 161 students will be named Presidential Scholars

Past scholars have come from Johnson County

  • Last year, two Johnson County undergraduates were named Presidential Scholars: Gauri Yadav of Olathe North High School and Jordin Reese MacKenzie of Blue Valley North.
  • In 2021, all three Kansas honorees were from Johnson County schools, including Shawnee Mission South’s Charles Horner, Olathe North’s Khushi Kohli, and Blue Valley West’s Aishani Saxena.

Keep reading: These Shawnee Mission elders are running for the Presidential Scholars honor

Content Source

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button