Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.

MLB Spring Training 2023: Cactus and Grapefruit Championships Explained

What is the Cactus League and how is it different from the Grapefruit League? originally appeared on NBC Sports Philadelphia

Before there is an American and National League, there is a Cactus and Grapefruit League.

To prepare for each new MLB season, some clubs travel to Arizona for spring training and compete in the Cactus League, while the rest play in the Florida-based Grapefruit League.

So which teams play where and what is the difference between the two?

Here’s everything you need to know about cactus and grapefruit alloys:

League of cacti

When did the Cactus League start?

The Cactus League was founded in 1946 after then Cleveland owner Bill Veeck convinced then Giants owner Horace Stoneham to move their spring training to Arizona. The Chicago Cubs were the third team to join in 1952.

In 1988, the Cactus League had 10 teams. The Cincinnati Reds were the latest addition to the league in 2010 to give it 15 teams.

When does the Cactus League start and finish in 2023?

This year’s Cactus League runs from February 26th to March 28th.

How many teams are in the Cactus League?

Fifteen teams play in the Cactus League.

Which teams are in the Cactus League?

Cactus League includes Arizona Diamondbacks, Chicago Cubs, Chicago White Sox, Cleveland Guardians, Cincinnati Reds, Colorado Rockies, Kansas City Royals, Los Angeles Angels, Los Angeles Dodgers, Milwaukee Brewers, Oakland A’s, San Diego Padres, San Francisco Giants, Seattle Mariners and Texas Rangers.

How many Cactus League stadiums are there?

Cactus League games are played in 10 different stadiums and eight different cities. Five of the venues are shared by two clubs.

Cactus League stadiums are much closer together than Grapefruit League. All 10 Cactus League locations are within an hour’s drive of each other.

American Family Fields of Phoenix, Phoenix: Brewers

Camelback Ranch, Glendale: Dodgers, White Sox

Goodyear Ballpark, Goodyear: Guardians, Rossi

The story continues

Hohokam Stadium, Mesa: Athletics

Peoria Sports Complex, Peoria: Sailors, Padres

Salt River Fields at Talking Stick, Scottsdale: Diamondback, Rocky Mountains

Scottsdale Stadium, Scottsdale: Giants

Sloan Park, Mesa: puppies

Stadium surprise, surprise: Rangers, Royals

Tempe Diablo Stadium, Tempe: Angels

Are there Cactus League stadiums indoors?

All Cactus League venues are outdoors.

How big are Cactus League stadiums?

The Cactus League ballparks have an average capacity of approximately 11,300. Sloan Park, home of the Cubs, can hold the most fans at around 15,000 while Tempe Diablo Stadium, home of the Angels, can hold the fewest fans at 9,600.

How many fans attend Cactus League games?

Attendance numbers have declined in recent years due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the 2022 lockout. In 2019, Cactus League games drew an average of 7,900 fans.

According to the Cactus League website, Arizona State University studies have shown that approximately 60 percent of fans who attend games are from out of state.

What is the average temperature in Arizona in February and March?

The average temperature in Phoenix ranges from 44-71 degrees in February and 48-78 degrees in March, according to Weather.com.

Grapefruit alloy

When did the Grapefruit League start?

The concept of spring training in Florida first began in 1888 with the Washington Nationals. No, not those citizens of Washington. This Washington National League baseball club spent three weeks training in Jacksonville that year, according to the Grapefruit League website. The team finished last, the whole Florida idea didn’t catch on, and it would be another 15 years before the teams returned to the state for spring training.

That’s when the Philadelphia Athletics, the defending American League champions, became the first major league team to spend an entire spring training in Florida before the 1903 season. But it would be another decade before Sunshine State would become a super host. spring training, with the Chicago Cubs coming to Tampa in 1913. They were joined the following year by the St. Louis Browns in St. Petersburg, the St. Louis Cardinals in St. Augustine, and the Athletics in Jacksonville.

In the late 1920s, 10 of MLB’s 16 teams spent spring training in Florida, including Babe Ruth and the New York Yankees.

When does the Grapefruit League start and end in 2023?

This year’s Grapefruit League runs from February 24th to March 31st.

How many teams are in the Grapefruit League?

Fifteen teams play in the Grapefruit League.

Which teams participate in the Grapefruit League?

Grapefruit League includes Atlanta Braves, Baltimore Orioles, Boston Red Sox, Detroit Tigers, Houston Astros, Miami Marlins, Minnesota Twins, New York Mets, New York Yankees, Philadelphia Phillies, Pittsburgh Pirates, St. Louis Cardinals, Tampa Bay Rays, Toronto Blue Jays and Washington Nationals.

How many Grapefruit League stadiums are there?

Grapefruit League games are played in 13 different stadiums, 12 different cities and two coasts of Florida. Some teams share a venue, with Ballpark of the Palm Beaches in West Palm Beach hosting the Astros and Nationals, and Roger Dean Chevrolet Stadium in Jupiter hosting the Astros and Cardinals.

Most of the Grapefruit League’s stadiums are located on Florida’s west coast, with three remaining on the east coast.

Atlanta Braves: CoolToday Park – Venice, Florida

Baltimore Orioles: Ed Smith Stadium – Sarasota, Florida

Boston Red Sox: JetBlue Park at Fenway South – Fort Myers, Fla.

Detroit Tigers: Publix Field at Joker Marchant Stadium – Lakeland, Fla.

Houston Astros: Palm Beaches Ballpark – West Palm Beach, Fla.

Miami Marlin: Roger Dean Chevrolet Stadium – Jupiter, Fla.

Minnesota Twins: Hammond Stadium – Fort Myers, Florida

New York Mets: Clover Park – Port St Lucie, Fla.

New York Yankees: George M. Steinbrenner Field – Tampa, Florida.

Philadelphia Phillies: BayCare Ballpark – Clearwater, Florida

Pittsburgh Pirates: LECOM Park – Bradenton, Florida

St. Louis Cardinals: Roger Dean Chevrolet Stadium – Jupiter, Fla.

Rays of Tampa Bay: Charlotte Sports Park – Port Charlotte, Florida

Toronto Blue Jays: TD Ballpark – Dunedin, Florida

Citizens of Washington: Palm Beaches Ballpark – West Palm Beach, Fla.

Are there Grapefruit League stadiums indoors?

All Grapefruit League venues are outdoors.

How big are Grapefruit League stadiums?

Grapefruit League ballparks have an average capacity of approximately 8,218. JetBlue Park, home of the Red Sox, can hold the largest number of fans at 11,000. CoolToday Park, home to the Braves and is the league’s newest stadium (2019), holds the fewest fans at 6,800.

How many fans attend Grapefruit League games?

Attendance numbers have declined in recent years due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the 2022 lockout. During the Grapefruit League’s last full season in 2019, games drew an average of 6,312 fans, according to Florida Sports foundation.

From 2000 to January 2020, more than 31 million fans attended spring training games in Florida, with the majority of sales driven by non-resident visitors, according to the FSF.

What is the average temperature in Florida in February and March?

The average temperature in Florida ranges from 65-82 degrees in February and 66-83 degrees in March, according to Weather.com.

Content Source

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button