Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.

Oklahoma State DMR teams break records as OSU and KU lead after day one of Big 12 Indoor Track and Field Championship

Links to history

LUBBOCK, Texas — Two records were broken and 11 champions were crowned after six events were completed Friday at the 2023 Big 12 Indoor Track and Field Championship at the Sports Performance Center on the Texas Tech campus. Oklahoma State women and Kansas men lead the league after Opening Day. The Cowgirls lead with 68 points while Oklahoma (47.5), Kansas State (34), Iowa State (30) and Kansas (12.5) round out the women’s team top five. The Jayhawks have collected 41 points in men’s competition followed by Texas (39), Oklahoma State (29), Texas Tech (28) and Iowa State (24). Sophomore Oklahoma student Pippi Lotta Enok became the second Sooner to take first place in the women’s pentathlon, scoring 4,207 points. She placed first in the long jump (6.10m), second in the high jump (1.71m), third in the 60m dash (8.62m), and seventh in the shot put (11.61m) but it was her second win in the 800m dash (2:19.26) that solidified the win for her. The Sooners’ Abby Moore collected her first Big 12 title by throwing 20.88 m in the shot put. Iowa State’s Cam Jones won the men’s competition with a throw of 23.27 yards. Oklahoma State swept the 5,000-meter dash with defending 2022 Big 12 3,000-meter champions Taylor Roe (16:08.37) and Alex Maier (14:11.72) earning the wins. OSU junior Ariadni Adamopoulou captured the pole vault title by clearing 4.19 meters, while Texas Tech’s Zach Bradford won his second straight pole vault title by clearing 5.63 meters. Iowa State sophomore Sydney Willits became the Cyclones’ first Big 12 long jump winner since 2018, jumping a record 6.33 meters. Nikaoli Williams became the second consecutive Sooner to win the long jump with a mark of 7.73 meters on Friday. Coming off his nation’s premier distance medley relay performance last week, the Cowboys broke both the Big 12 and Texas Tech facility records by running a 9:31.52 in the event. OSU broke the record set in 2015 by over five seconds for the program’s third straight DMR Big 12 title. The Cowgirls claimed their second consecutive DMR title with a time of 11:12.21 and also set a facility record. Saturday’s championship kicks off at 11am CT with the men’s heptathlon. The field events kick off at 1pm CT with the women’s shot put while the women’s 60m hurdles kick off the running events at 2pm CT. Live coverage will continue on Big 12 Now on ESPN+ and live scores will be available via PrimeTime Timing.
Big 12 Indoor Track and Field Champions – Day One
Women:pentathlon: Pippi Lotta Enok, Oklahoma – 4207 pointsShot put: Abby Moore, Oklahoma – 20.88m5,000 meters: Taylor Roe, Oklahoma State – 4:08.37pmPole vault: Ariadni Adamopoulou, Oklahoma State – 4.19mLong jump: Sydney Willits, State of Iowa – 6.33mDistance medley relay: Oklahoma State – 11:12.21
Men: Shot put: Cam Jones, Iowa State – 23.27m5,000 m: Alex Maier, State of Oklahoma – 2:11.72pmPole vault: Zach Bradford, Texas Tech – 5.63mLong jump: Nikaoli Williams, Oklahoma – 7.73mDistance medley relay: Oklahoma State – 9:31.52am
Standings after the first day:

1. Oklahoma State 68 2. Oklahoma 47.5 3. Kansas State 34 4. Iowa State 30 5. Kansas 12.5 6. Texas 11 7. Texas Tech 11 8. Baylor 8 9. West Virginia 8 10. TCU 4


1. Kansas 41 2. Texas 39 3. Oklahoma State 29 4. Texas Tech 28 5. Iowa State 24 6. Oklahoma 10 7. Baylor 9 8. TCU 8 9. Kansas State 7

Content Source

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button