Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.

The Center for Rural Affairs honors a handful of Nebraska supporters

LINCOLN – The Center for Rural Affairs is honoring a handful of Nebraskans for their work advocating for rural affairs.

The center, based in Lyons, Nebraska, announced it is awarding awards to four Nebraskas in its 50th year, with additional honorees from Kansas and South Dakota. The private non-profit organization’s mission is to strengthen small businesses, family farms and ranches, and rural communities.

Brian Depew, executive director of the center, said in a statement that the organization’s work relies on grassroots rural residents engaging with the center in their communities.

“This year’s award winners reflect individuals who are working in their communities and roles to create change: from protecting our land and water, to starting critical businesses, supporting entrepreneurs and advancing change political,” Depew said. “Each has helped advance the Center’s mission of building vibrant rural communities.”

More information about the awards and past winners can be found here. The center will honor each recipient with a ceremony in their respective communities.

George Norris Award for Politics: State Senator Myron Dorn of Adams is recognized for a bipartisan approach with compromise and consensus to support family farms and rural communities.

Rural Community Champion Award: LaVonne Snake of Winnebago is recognized for “extraordinary contributions” in building community engagement around food education and food sovereignty.

Entrepreneur Award: Reyna Sibrian, Blanca González, and Joaquina Rojas, owners of Bambino’s Daycare in South Sioux City, are recognized for using the center’s services to manage and grow their business.

Entrepreneur Partner Award: Echo Collection in Lincoln is recognized for demonstrating “outstanding support” to the center and “outstanding dedication” to small business development. According to the press release, this included technical assistance, business training, loans and networking in rural Nebraska.

Awards outside Nebraska:

  • Seventh Generation Award: Jim and Lisa French of Partridge, Kansas, for “lifetime service” in important contributions to improve rural life and land and water protection.
  • Citizenship Award: Megan Vaith of Scotland, South Dakota for working closely with the center to advance public policy in line with its mission.

Content Source

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button